Archaeology Dig

A couple of weeks ago I put some everyday objects from our life into the garden.

The kids were absolutely enthralled to dig in the garden to find anything we could. (I didn’t let them know that I had ‘planted’ objects there for us to find.) As we dug around the grid I had constructed, I realized that I didn’t really remember exactly where I had dug the garden up. My landmark of a tree had been replaced this past weekend, so I had to guess where to put the grid. We found a few objects including some clay pot pieces, some foil, some paper and a bone. (The kids are calling it the ‘sabre tooth’!)

This activity is one suggested by our History curriculum, The Story of the World. I have never been one to love history. However, I am really looking forward to learning about history with my children!

As we eat lunch, the kids are still discussing what would be cool to find in the backyard. They want to continue digging after we eat!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

